Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Post Type Selectors

Hometown of Neil Armstrong

City Council

City Hall

Wapakoneta Comprehensive Plan Survey

Recreation Facilities Reservations

View/Pay Utility Bill

Committee Members

  • Dan Lee – Mayor
  • Andy Beane – Engineering Department
  • Levi Cecil – Electric Department
  • Terri Campbell – City Council
  • Rodney Metz – Citizen
  • Blaine Kohler – Citizen
  • Jim Kohler – Citizen
  • Phil Valentine – Consultant
  • James Marok – Consultant


Wapakoneta was recognized as a Tree City USA for the 29th year in 2016.

The title of “Tree City USA” was bestowed upon our community by the Ohio Department of Natural Resources, Division of Forestry, for our ongoing efforts to maintain and improve the quality of life through a comprehensive street tree management program. The program is guided by the Tree Commission and the municipal government.

The Ohio Department of Natural Resources, Division of Forestry acts as a guiding hand in helping a community to become qualified as a Tree City USA. The Urban Forester recommends a community to the Arbor Day Foundation for this standing. In order to achieve the title and the honors, a community must meet four standards: a Tree Ordinance; an active Tree Commission or forestry department; a comprehensive urban forestry program supported by a minimum of two dollars per capita; and an annual Arbor Day proclamation and public observance.

The State of Ohio currently boasts the greatest number of Tree Cities in the country with a grand total this past year of 244. This marks Ohio’s 33rd year as the top Tree City USA state, according to the Ohio Department of Natural Resources’ (ODNR) Divisions of Forestry. 55 of Northwest Ohio’s communities are Tree Cities and Ohio Northern University is a Tree Campus USA. All were recognized for their achievements at the awards ceremony.

For more information about the Tree City program or the Arbor Day Foundation, visit

419-738-3011 or

The Wapakoneta Tree Commission is a five-member volunteer board appointed by the mayor “to study, investigate, counsel, develop or update annually, and administer, a written plan for the care, preservation, pruning, planting, replanting, removal or disposition of trees and shrubs in parks, along streets and in other public areas,” according to city ordinance. The Tree Commission meets with the state arborist to help plan and manage the urban forest in the City of Wapakoneta. The goal of the Tree Commission is to help educate and beautify our community.

On May 6, 2013, Mayor Metz and Wapakoneta Tree Commission Chairman, Scott Risner, awarded 4 students, Zach Holtzapple, Megan Hayzlett, Ross Kantner, and Jocelyn Campbell, with the Teen Green Award.